Join A Committee

Aside from committees that are struck on an issue-based ad-hoc basis, the following are committees that meet and/or communicate regularly throughout the academic year. If you wish to join a committee, have questions about or for one, write to the coordinator/point-people for that committee and copy gsu@riseup.net. If there’s a committee that should be here but isn’t, write to us if you would like to help in setting it up.

The Organizing Committee is our main day-to-day decision-making body. It meets every week, at a set time every quarter. Its meetings are open to all members! To find out when and where we’ll meet next, and how to bring something to the agenda, get in touch with us.

Meeting Coordinators: Daniela Licandro, 7th year, EALC (daniela.licandro@gmail.com), Tanima, 3rd year, Anthropology (tanima.sharma.0@gmail.com).  

If you can’t commit to weekly meetings, or prefer to do more hands-on work, you can become a Departmental Organizer (DO). The Departmental Organizer Committee coordinates communication and training for DOs and maintains DO Google group. DOs try to recruit members, field questions, organize information sessions, and/or be in touch with GSU members in their departments. This work is so important given our current phase of the unionization drive. Get in touch if you’d like to learn more about how to be a DO.

DO Point-Person: Agatha Slupek, 2nd year, Political Science (agatha.slupek@gmail.com)

Charting, Mapping, and Recruitment Committee: responsible for maintaining the database of members, organizing information on grad jobs, and mapping our workplaces.

Membership Coordinators: Eric Powell, 5th year, English (erictylerpowell@gmail.com), Romit Chakraborty, 5th year, Chemistry (romit.chakraborty@gmail.com)

Parents’ Committee: to work toward affordable childcare options for graduate student parents and for better integration of family (and other forms of life) within the University community, allied with the Student Parent Group (SPG) on campus.

Parents’ Committee Coordinator: Timothy Gutmann, 6th year, Islamic Studies, (timothy.gutmann@gmail.com)

Student Parent Group Coordinator: Nadia Inji Khan, 5th year, Islamic Studies (inji@uchicago.edu)

Communications Committee: tasked with talking to the press, managing our social media platforms, editing and disseminating GSU lit, member emails, and weekly email news.

Communications Coordinators: Matthew Vanderpoel, 5th year, History of Christianity (vanderpoelensis@gmail.com), Abhishek Bhattacharyya, 4th year, SALC; 2nd year, Anthropology (obhishekbolchi@gmail.com)

Gender Committee: To address issues that come up in our working conditions in the university as well as within the union that deal with gendered relations of power from an intersectional perspective.

Point-person: e-mail GSU (gsu at riseup dot net) for further information

Health Care Committee: tasked with researching our student healthcare and developing an informed vision for better care.

Point-person: Yukun Zeng, 2nd year, Anthropology (zengyk91@gmail.com)

Sciences Committee: to expand GSU members in the sciences broadly, to learn more about grad student employee life in the sciences, to build relationships and campaigns there.

Point-person: Benjamin Blanchard, 3rd year, Evolutionary Biology (bblanchard@fieldmuseum.org)

Solidarity Committee: to build connections with community groups, student groups, and organized labour on campus and across the city.

Point-person: Tanima, 3rd year, Anthropology (tanima.sharma.0@gmail.com)