Masters Students

Masters and Professional Students Are Voting YES for GSU-UE!

GSU-UE represents over 3,000 graduate workers at the University of Chicago, including about 700 MA, MS, MBA, MFA, and MPP graduate instructors and researchers across the university including Harris School of Public Policy, the Booth School of Business, the Crown School of Social Work, Policy and Practice, and the Divinity School. Any Masters student that provides instructional or research services, such as by working as a Research Assistant or Teaching Assistant, is eligible to vote in the union election. Join us by pledging to Vote Yes!

We are an important part of the GSU-UE campaign to win improvements for graduate teachers and researchers. We are fighting for:

  • Increased Pay 
  • Health Insurance 
  • Tuition Remission
  • Fair Workloads
  • International Student Support

The National Labor Relations Board will hold a vote on unionization on January 31st and February 1st, 2023.  We are joining graduate students from across the University of Chicago campus to create a powerful organization that can secure real improvements. 

By winning the union vote on January 31st and February 1st, GSU-UE wil bargain for improvements for Master and Professional graduate employees.  We will have the opportunity to elect people to the bargaining committee to ensure our interests are represented at the bargaining table. Learn more about the election and bargaining a contract by visiting our FAQ page.

A group of four graduate students are holing up signs that say "I'm voting yes!"

The vote on unionization is Tuesday, January 31st and Wednesday, February 1st.

  • Social Sciences Division; The Booth School of Business; and The Irving B. Harris School of Public Policy will vote at Ida Noyes Cloister Club (within Ida Noyes Hall)
  • Division of the Humanities; Divinity School; The Crown Family School of Social Work, Policy and Practice will vote at Regenstein Library Room 122A
  • Physical Sciences Division will vote at the UChicagoGRAD Headquarters (“GRAD HQ”), 3rd Floor—970 E 58th St (above the Bookstore)
  • Biological Sciences Division and The Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering will vote at the William Eckhardt Research Center (“ERC”), Room 102